Board, Staff & Alumni


The Workshop Arts Centre Board is drawn from WAC membership and is comprised of representatives from teachers, students, and community members from the business and arts sector. The Board meetings are held every two months and the Annual General Meeting is held in May.

President Adrian Farrow
I served on the Friends of the National Art School committee as Vice President for 10 years when the school was going through a particularly torrid time. Although now ‘retired’, developed and owned the largest Australian business magazine publishers which included Australian Art Review. My interest in art includes printmaking where I helped found ‘Open Bite’ a group of printmakers now with more than 25 years history. My absolute love is sculpture and have been practising sculpture for around 14 years and this year is my first with WAC and enjoying it immensely. Consequently I am very happy to serve WAC in any way I can.

1st Vice President Harvey Cassie
Harvey’s career in advertising left little time to pursue his passion for painting. He attended Tony Tozer’s class for over 6 years and continues to paint part-time. In 2010 he was a resident artist at the Incinerator Studios and participated in a number of group shows. He joined the Board in 2011 and served as President for two years. He returned to the Board in 2017.

2nd Vice President Jane Smith
Jane has been at the WAC since 2011 and enjoying painting and drawing classes with Brandt Lewis. Prior to this she has also attended classes in pottery, sculpture and water colour painting. Jane’s career has been mainly in PA and administrative roles within the entrepreneurial, recruitment and, presently, legal industries.

Honorary Treasurer Ben Guthleben
Ben (BEc/LLB (Adel)) has had a career in law, finance and tax and is currently the manager international taxation with Australia’s largest telecommunications company. Ben has been a member of the WAC since 2015 and joined the board in 2016. He is passionate about the arts and looks forward to contributing to the very special place that is the WAC.

Honorary Secretary Roz Stampfli
Roz joined the Board in 2010 and has served as Hon Sec and Vice President over the years. She worked as a legal P.A., devised and managed Pets for Therapy voluntary programme and volunteered in an art therapy programme in palliative care. She studied Fine Arts before working in art therapy in the disabilities industry. Roz has been a practicing sculptor for over 15 years and exhibits regularly.

Director Richard Newton
Richard is the managing director of Videowall Australia consulting in the design and installation of large screen Videowall equipment in command and control rooms. A life long interest in ceramics has lead to an active participation in all areas of the ceramics department and assisting management at the WAC. Appointed to the board in 2011.

Director Andjana Pachkova
Andjana (Andy) Pachkova was born in Russia and moved to the United States in 1997 after winning a prestigious Davis Fellowship to pursue a graduate degree in liberal arts at Dartmouth College. While at Dartmouth, Andjana took a visual arts class to enhance her drawing technique. After that she studied art at NYU, Northbridge Visual Art School (Diploma of Visual Arts), Workshop Arts Centre and Waverley Woollahra Art School.

Andjana holds a Master of Law from Harvard University (Cambridge, MA), Master of Arts in Liberal Studies from Dartmouth College (Hanover, NH) and a Bachelor of Laws from Moscow International University. Andjana has lived and studied law and art internationally and has had a wealth of experience.

Having moved to Australia in 2013, Andjana developed a keen passion for the Australian landscape and has enjoyed the local art scene ever since. Andjana lives and works in Northbridge with her husband and three young sons.

As of April 2017, Andjana is represented by Stanley Street Gallery in New South Wales and Mercury Gallery in Moscow.

Director Kathy Rosenmeyer
After a busy career in medicine, Kathy decided to pursue her interest in art, particularly in sculpture. She has been a member of the WAC for over 20 years whilst doing classes, workshops exhibiting her sculptures in Sydney and Country NSW. She was on the Board of the Wunanbiri Preschool in Alexandria for many years and has been on the WAC board since 2010.

Director Tamsin Salehian
Tamsin Salehian has been involved in both environmental and artistic projects in the UK and Australia for over 20 years and holds degrees in Fine Arts and in Science. She has produced large-scale installations, exhibited internationally and her work often involves an interdisciplinary approach to media. She has been involved in a number of community groups as board member or management committee in both art based and environmental fields.

Director Sally Sadubin


Arts Centre Manager Louise Ruddock

Office & Marketing Coordinator Roberta Knox

Administration & Facilites Assistant Casuarina Bird


Lloyd Rees, Three Boats – Lane Cove River 1978

The Workshop Arts Centre is one of the oldest independent art centres in Australia, established in 1961. It has an impressive alumni including many Australian artists who are major figures in the history of art and contemporary practice.

The Centre has a list of acclaimed former and current students, teachers, visiting artists, judges etc. Such as Lloyd Rees and John Coburn, Kerrie Lester and Jo Bertini.

Are you a WAC Alumnus? Please contact us as we would like to know your news.

Susan Archer

Fern Baudish
Jo Bertini
Margaret Blundell
John Bokor
Nancy Borlase AM
David Bruce Steer
Sue Buckley
Ruth Burgess
Julie Byrnes

Barbara Campbell-Allen
Ann Cape
Katrina Cashman
Leonard Cayzer
Jean Clark
John Coburn
Steve Coburn
Mieke Cohen
Laurie Collings
Shirley Crapp
Lucy Culliton
Elisabeth Cummings
Robert Curtis

Vivienne Dadour
Marguerite Derricourt

Joy Ewart

Ruth Faerber
David Fairbairn
Carmen Field
Mitzi Finey
John Frith-Smith

Juta Gedersen
James Gleeson
Margot Goodall

Janette Hanrahan
Jean Hanrahan
Nicolas Harding
Elaine Haxton
Michael Herron
Frank Hinder AM
Frank Hodgkinson

Roz Kean
Michael Kempson
Edwin Kindred
Marie King
Jasper Knight

Paddy Lemcke OAM
Kerrie Lester

Guy Maestri
Frank Marjason
Margaret Marjason
Philip Martin
Seraphina Martin
Ian McKay
Bettina McMahon

Jenny Pollak
Beth Pyke

Mary Ramsay
David Rankin
Lloyd Rees CMG, AC
Leo Robba
Elizabeth Rooney

Edward Sachs
Lori Sachs
Helena Salm
Luke Sciberras
James Sharp
Wendy Sharpe
Joan Smith

James Tasker OAM
Aida Tomescu
Tony Tozer

Nicholas Vickers

Jenny Weissel
Judith White
Marjorie Woore